Effective 07/01/2022 it is illegal to sell, transfer or redeem from pawn firearms with detachable magazines higher than 10 rounds. Anyone currently owning high-capacity magazines is grandfathered to maintain ownership. J.C.'s Pawnshop, Inc. will no longer accept out of state transfers for any firearms with detachable magazines that exceed 10 rounds. We will still accept firearms for loans or sale that have capacities of more than 10 rounds, just leave your magazines at home.
J.C.'s Pawnshop is fully licensed to buy, sell and/or trade firearms. We have a current Federal Firearms License (FFL) and current State of Washington Firearms Dealer License. We offer out of state sales transfers, handle in state private sales, sell, buy and loan on firearms. We are educated with all Federal (ATF) regulations and in compliance for all firearm sales. Federal firearm regulations require an individual to be 18 years of age to handle or purchase most long guns. Effective January 1, 2019, an individual must be 21 to handle or purchase a Semi-Automatic rifle. An individual must be 21 years of age to handle or purchase a handgun. The 4473 is a federal firearm form that assists the federal government in conducting background checks.
Law requires proof of current address when picking up or purchasing a firearm. If your driver's license or ID card does not have your current address, you will need to provide an alternate government issued document. Some examples would be Concealed Carry Permit, vehicle registration or fishing/hunting license.
Business requirements to handle firearms:
- Federal Firearms License (FFL) renewed every three (3) years.
- State of Washington Firearm Dealer License renewed yearly.
- State of Washington State Patrol employee background checks yearly.
Customer requirements for pawn redemption or purchasing firearms:
Effective July 1, 2019, Concealed Carry Permit (CCP) are solely for carrying. They will not expedite sales or redemptions.
Loan/pawn redemption procedure:
A federal 4473 is filled out for any long gun, handgun or receiver at time of redemption. Frames or receivers, single shot rifles, bolt action rifles, lever action rifles, pump action rifles and all shotguns require only this form and can be processed for redemption usually the same day. Handguns and Semi-Automatic Rifles; Effective July 1, 2019 in addition to the federal 4473, a "Loan Redemption of Handgun and/or Semi-Automatic Rifles" form is sent to the customers local law enforcement agency. Their local law enforcement agency will provide authorization to redeem these firearms. This will require a waiting period.
Retail sale procedure:
Effective July 1, 2019, the federal 4473 is filled out for all firearms and receivers. Frames/Receivers, single shot rifles, lever action rifles, bolt action rifles, pump action rifles and all shotguns require only this form and can be processed for taking home usually the same day. Handguns and Semi-Automatic Rifles require both the federal 4473 and a Washington State Firearm Transfer Application form to be filled out. The State Firearm Transfer Application is sent to the customers local law enforcement agency. Their local law enforcement agency will provide authorization to proceed with the sale. This will require a waiting period. For handguns, the firearm can be released as soon as law enforcement provides a proceed. For Semi-Automatic Rifles, regardless of when law enforcement provides a proceed, there will be a minimum 10 business day waiting period.
Concerning Semi-Automatic Rifles (SAR), there will be an $18.00 fee per rifle for every purchase or private sale transfer. This is collected for the state. The state requires proof of special safety training for SAR's. A current certificate or proof of completing the course must be presented at time of purchase or transfer. These new fees and training are not required for loan/pawn redemption.
We offer out of state transfers:
Fees are $25.00 for receivers and long guns (excluding Semi-Automatic Rifles) & $38.00 for handguns and Semi-Automatic Rifles. If the vendor did not collect sales tax, by law we are required to collect use tax (8.8%).
Firearm Private Sale transfers - $25.00 for receivers and long guns (excluding Semi-Automatic Rifles) & $38.00 handguns and Semi-Automatic Rifles. The customer is responsible for paying use tax to the state.